A Crack in the Wall by Betty Jane Hegerat

A Crack in the Wall by Betty Jane Hegerat. Oolichan Books, 2008 The characters in the short stories in A Crack in the Wall share a strong sense of home, whether it is a lifelong sanctuary, or a shell as fragile as the person who inhabits it. A young kleptomaniac ventures outside the shaky walls of [...]

According to Luke by Rosanne Dingli

According to Luke, by Rosanne Dingli. Bewrite Books, 2011. 366 pages. Shattered by the breakdown of yet another romance, Jana Hayes becomes a recluse in her tiny Venice apartment and buries herself in her work as an expert art conservator … until an ancient religious icon brings Roman Catholic priest Rob Anderson into her life. The secret they [...]

Adventures in Solitude: What Not to Wear to a Nude Potluck and Other Stories from Desolation Sound by Grant Lawrence

Adventures in Solitude: What Not to Wear to a Nude Potluck and Other Stories from Desolation Sound. Harbour Publishing. $26.95 From Captain George Vancouver to Muriel “Curve of Time” Blanchet to Jim “Spilsbury’s Coast” Spilsbury, visitors to Desolation Sound have left behind a trail of books endowing the area with a romantic aura that helps [...]

Alone in the Classroom by Elizabeth Hay

Alone in the Classroom, by Elizabeth Hay McClelland & Stewart, 306 pp. In a small prairie school in 1929, Connie Flood helps a backward student, Michael Graves, learn how to read. Observing them and darkening their lives is the principal, Parley Burns, whose strange behaviour culminates in an attack so disturbing its repercussions continue to [...]

An Evil Shadow by AJ Davidson

Fans of Harlan Coben and James Patterson will enjoy this book. Val Bosanquet, a former New Orleans detective, is offered a job as Chief of a campus PD. A Haitian child killer he helped convict for the murder of her mother has just been enrolled at the university. His estranged wife, now living with Val’s brother, [...]

Bats or Swallows by Teri Vlassopoulos

  Bats or Swallows is Teri Vlassopoulos’s debut collection of short fiction. The stories are sharp, accurate, at times dark, but told with balance and skill. The innocence and clarity of her narrative voice reveals new and unexpected layers. Vlassopoulos brings readers into her characters’ worlds; making their desires intelligible, showing how they frame their [...]

Believing Cedric by Mark Lavorato

  Believing Cedric gives us Cedric Johnson, a middle-aged insurance broker with an unusual problem: he seems to be physically flashing back to pivotal moments from his past. As Cedric journeys through time, he is brought face to face with forgotten memories, heartbreaking loss, the possibilities of love, and the agony of a life of [...]

Bliss by Fiona Zedde

For Jamaican-born Bliss Sinclair, life in New York has worn thin. The boyfriend, the city, even her job all fail to satisfy her. Into this life steps a blazing hot seductress who puts her in touch with her passions in a way she’d never felt before. But the seduction is just that. When Sinclair thinks she might [...]

Burning Ground by Pearl Luke

Burning Ground is the winner of the 2001 Commonwealth Prize for best first novel, Canada/Caribbean region. It was short-listed for the Georges Bugnet award, and the Canadian Booksellers’ Libris award, and was a Globe & Mail notable book of the year. In 1999, before the novel was published, it was one of five finalists for the [...]

Chanting Denied Shores by Tariq Malik

Chanting Denied Shores, by Tariq Malik, is a historical novel spanning seven years (1914 – 1921) in the lives of four protagonists of the Komagata Maru debacle. Upon the ship’s arrival in the Burrard Inlet of Vancouver’s racially charged harbour, it is intercepted by the hostile immigration authorities of the Province of British Columbia. However, [...]

A Crack in the Wall by Betty Jane Hegerat

FEATURED VIDEOS

TELL A FRIEND


SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

© 2013 Book Club Buddy. All Rights Reserved. - Privacy Policy - Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes