Gurjinder Basran’s novel shortlisted for Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize!

Gurjinder Basran’s novel Everything Was Goodbye has been shortlisted for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize! Winners announced April 21, 2011. Congratulations to Gurjinder and to her publisher Mother Tongue Publishing. Everything Was Goodbye won Mother Tongue’s Search for the Great B.C. Novel Contest. Everything Was Good-Bye centers around Meena, a young Indo Canadian woman growing up in [...]

Hump by Ariel Gordon Shortlisted for Two Book Awards

Hump, Ariel Gordon’s 2010 collection of poetry, shortlisted for two Manitoba Book Awards awards! Her debut made the list for the Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry/Prix Lansdowne de poésie and the Eileen McTavish Sykes Award for Best First Book. The awards will be presented at the Manitoba Book Awards gala, taking place Sunday April 17th [...]

Hump by Ariel Gordon wins Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry

Hump, by Ariel Gordon, published by Palimpsest Press, wins the Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry / Le Prix Lansdowne du poesie at the 2011 Manitoba Book Awards. Judges Michael Harris, Kenneth Meadwell, and Serge Patrice Thibodeau made the following comments about Gordon’s debut: Hump is Ariel Gordon’s first book, coming on the heels of a [...]

Mennonites Don’t Dance Successful Author Tour

Mennonites Don’t Dance, by Darcie Friesen Hossack. An interesting article about the successful book tour for this novel, managed by Susan Toy of Alberta Books Canada. Contains links to the author’s experiences on the road.

The Matter of Sylvie by Lee Kvern Nominated for Prize

The Writers Guild of Alberta is thrilled to announce the finalists for the 2011 Alberta Literary Awards! Lee Kvern’s second novel The Matter of Sylvie is shortlisted for the George Bugnet Fiction Award. Read more about The Matter of Sylvie. Read an INTERVIEW with Lee Kvern about The Matter of Sylvie.

Victoria Book Prizes awarded

At an awards gala Thursday evening, October 14, 2010, two Greater Victoria authors were recognized for their literary achievements.  Frances Backhouse, author of Children of the Klondike, was named the winner of the 7th Annual City of Victoria Butler Book Prize; and Sylvia Olsen, of Counting on Hope, was named the winner of the 3rd Annual Bolen Books [...]



SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

© 2015 Book Club Buddy. All Rights Reserved. - Privacy Policy - Log in - Designed by Gabfire Themes