Home » Fiction » An Evil Shadow by AJ Davidson

An Evil Shadow by AJ Davidson

Fans of Harlan Coben and James Patterson will enjoy this book. Val Bosanquet, a former New Orleans detective, is offered a job as Chief of a campus PD. A Haitian child killer he helped convict for the murder of her mother has just been enrolled at the university. His estranged wife, now living with Val’s brother, persuades him to accept the job. Val stumbles across new evidence, suggesting that his original investigation was flawed. After a colleague is murdered Val finds himself stumbling through a maze of treachery and evil.  Corporate corruption and Voodoo make for a volatile mix in the Deep South.

Excerpt from CHAPTER ONE

New Orleans 2003

Donny Jackson turned the key in the lock, pushed open the door and entered the apartment, then used his foot to hook the door shut behind him. His hands were full. In one he carried a medium-sized Samsonite case and a plastic bag containing a box of duty-free Cuban cigars, in the other his keys and a bunch of mail that had accumulated during his latest trip to Vietnam.

The temperature inside was just a few degrees from being chilly and he could hear the ceiling fan rotating slowly. For once the building’s super had remembered to turn the power back on for his return. He used an elbow to flick on the lights.

It felt good to be home. If you could call an apartment he saw for less than two months out of every twelve home. There had been times when he felt it was nothing more than a five-room closet; a place to store his clothes and his MP3 player. Still, it wouldn’t be for much longer. If all went to plan then he had only three more weeks before he had his hands on more money than he had dreamed possible in his wildest fantasy. He would never have to work another day in his life. No more long-haul flights in cramped, tourist class seats. No more cheap, flea-ridden hotels in fourth-world countries. No more having to take orders from a bunch of pricks.

Read an INTERVIEW with AJ Davidson

Independently published with CreateSpace

[tags]crime thriller, mystery, aj davidson, New Orleans, voodoo[/tags]

Short URL: http://www.bookclubbuddy.com/?p=1047

Posted by Pearl on Sep 11 2010. Filed under Fiction. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Responses are currently closed, but you can trackback from your own site.
Kobo wifi eReader

Comments are closed

Getting 2 Know U

NEW author every Thursday!

Getting 2 Know Anne Sorbie

Getting 2 Know Betty Jane Hegerat

Getting 2 Know Farzana Doctor

View complete list HERE

TELL A FRIEND


SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend

© 2011 Book Club Buddy. All Rights Reserved. - Privacy Policy - Log in Facebook Like Button for Dummies - Designed by Gabfire Themes